Extend Course Access

Allowing students to access a course outside of the course start or end date

Last Updated: June 5th, 2024

There are generally two ways to extend course access to students before or after a term has been completed — Individual(s) or the entire class.

Extending access to one student or all students may require adjusting the course end date to avoid confusion from students. If you don’t do this, the course will still be viewable by students BUT often "mysteriously disappears" from their “Current Courses” in their dashboard and gets moved over to a dated tab (i.e. 2020, 2019, 2018). This can often be very confusing for students.

Make sure to adjust the course end date by editing the course settings as needed

1) The easy way: go back into the course settings reset the course to be “visible” after it is hidden automatically at the end of the term (Moodle Admin completes this each term). Doing so will allow ALL participants to continue accessing the class as if the term never ended.

OR

2) Add the “Student w/Extended Access” role to specific participants.

Go to "participants" at the top of the page, then select the pencil icon. Choose "student extended course access" then select the floppy disk icon to save the role. You should see the role appear next to the students name.

Student with role extended course access

This allows specific students to access the course regardless of if the course gets hidden at the term. They will retain access to the course until you remove this role override. If the course has completed, the course will be displayed in the user dashboard under the year of completion (i.e. 2022, 2023, 2024) instead of the default "Current Courses" area.


Delete

Pro Tip: Use Manual enrollment + cutoff date

If you want to give a user access for a limited time (i.e 30 days), it's best to create a new "Manual Enrollment", assign the role of "Student w/Extended Access", and set a specific cutoff end date. This way you won't have to remember to remove access at a later date.

To add a manual enrollment, use the drop down menu to go to "enrollment methods" then select the profile with the plus sign under the "edit" column.

Add the student to create the manual enrollment, then you will see a small gear icon next to their name in "Participants" where you can set those manual enrollment end date.



ATC Support & Hours of Operation

Weekday Support, Monday - Friday

The ATC is open to in-person assistance. Support is available through the above remote options and on campus at CEN 208

Was this article helpful?